Delfina alumni at Venice Biennale

Over a dozen former residents of Delfina Foundation and Delfina Studio Trust (Delfina Foundation’s predecessor organisation) can be found presenting work in and around the 60th International Art Exhibition of La Biennale di Venezia.

Delfina Foundation is delighted to share that this year’s International Exhibition curated by Adriano Pedrosa includes three alumni artists: Manauara Clandestina (Brazil, resident in 2020), Dana Awartani (Saudi Arabia, resident in 2015), and Lydia Ourahmane (UK/Algeria, resident in 2016).

Further more, Delfina alumni are presenting work in the following national pavilions: Hong Kong (Trevor Yeung), Saudi Arabia (Manal AlDowayan), Panama (Giana De Dier), Uzbekistan (Aziza Kadyri), Egypt (Wael Shawky), and Azerbaijan (Rashad Alakbarov).

In addition, there is also the chance to see work from our alumni in the following collateral exhibitions: Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme in Nebula; Alex Baczyński-Jenkins’s Federico (8 min) will be performed half hour from 17-19 April as part of Ukraine: Dare to Dream; Vivien Sansour in SOUTH WEST BANK – Landworks, Collective Action and Sound; and Khvay Samnang and Moe Satt in The Spirits of Maritime Crossing.


Alumni from across Delfina Foundation and Delfina Studio Trust have a great record of award-winning presentation at Venice, including: Delfina alumni DAAR winning the Golden Lion in 2023 (architecture biennale); Delfina studio alum Sonia Boyce winning the Golden Lion in 2022; Silver Lions awarded to Ali Cherri in 2022 and Hassan Khan in 2017; four alumni as part of the 2015 Golden Lion winning Armenian pavilion; and then-studio artist Luisa Lambri being part of the Golden Lion winning Italian pavilion in 1999.

In 2019, Delfina Foundation co-produced with Venice Biennale a special series of performances, co-curated by Aaron Cezar and Ralph Rugoff, during the opening and closing of the biennale, involving artists: Alex Baczynski-Jenkins, boychild, Nástio Mosquito, Florence Peake & Eve Stainton, Sin Wai Kin, Zadie Xa, Vivian Caccuri, Cooking Sections, Invernomuto, Paul Maheke, Nkisi and Ariel Efraim Ashbel, Vivien Sansour, Bo Zheng, and Solange Knowles.