Artist becomes fifth former Delfina resident to win the prize.

Courtesy Hrair Sarkissian.

Hrair Sarkissian is one of the five winners of Abraaj Capital Art Prize 2013, alongside Vartan Avakian, Iman Issa, Huma Mulji, and Rayyane Tabet. The artists have already started working closely with this year’s selected Guest Curator, Murtaza Vali.

The Abraaj Capital Art Prize (ACAP) is awarded annually to five artists on the basis of proposals for new artworks, which become permanent additions to the Abraaj Capital Art Collection following their unveiling at Art Dubai. Abraaj Capital, a leading private equity manager investing in global growth markets, launched the Abraaj Capital Art Prize in 2008 to foster and reward artistic development in the region.

ACAP has had 21 recipients over the last five years, and Hrair is our fifth resident artist to receive the prize. Previous Delfina Foundation residents that have won include Wael ShawkyRaed YassinShezad Dawood and Nadia Kaabi-Linke.